2017 Lucie Awards

2017 Lucie Awards Gala

Sunday, October 29, 2017


Zankell Hall at Carnegie Hall, NYC

6 p.m. Arrivals
7 p.m Show


Attire: Cocktail or Black Tie

Zankell Hall is located at 881 7th Avenue, New York, New York 10019


buy tickets


The Lucie Awards is the premiere annual event honoring the greatest achievements in photography. The photography community from around the globe pays tribute to the most outstanding people in the field. Each year, the Lucie Advisory Board nominates deserving individuals across a variety of categories. Once these nominations have been received, an honoree in each category is selected.
The honorees are presented with the Lucie statue during a spectacular evening at the Lucie Awards gala ceremony in New York.

The Lucie Awards is the signature program of Lucie Foundation.
Watch 2016 Video Tributes

2017 Honorees

Lifetime Achievement

Art Shay

Shay has pursued photography since his teens, and he took his first Leica to war with him. His first published photographs—documenting a mid air collision over his English Air Base—were . . .

Achievement in Fine Art

Abelardo Morell

Abelardo Morell was born in Havana, Cuba in 1948. He immigrated to the United States with his parents in 1962. Morell received his . . .

Achievement in Documentary

Larry Fink

Besides working as a professional photographer for over fifty-five years, Larry Fink has had one-man shows at New York’s Museum of Modern Art, and the Whitney . . .

Achievement in Photojournalism

Steve Schapiro

Steve Schapiro was born in New York in 1934. His interest in photography started as a teenager when he began capturing people in human situations. At that time, he felt the most a young photographer could aspire to was to . . .

Achievement in Fashion

Dominique Issermann

Dominique Issermann was born in Paris in 1947 and began taking photographs and printing at the age of 16 . . .

Achievement in Portraiture

Judith Joy Ross

Since 1982, the photographer Judith Joy Ross (born 1946 in Hazleton, Pennsylvania) has produced sensitive, authentic portraits of . . .

Humanitarian Award

Josephine Herrick Project

Josephine Herrick Project is a nonprofit that enlists professional photographers to educate students who . . .

International Photography Awards

View past IPA winners here

The International Photography Awards (IPA) competition, a sister-effort of Lucie Foundation, announces its finalists in advance of the Lucie Awards. They are selected by an international jury panel of photography professionals. Four of the finalists will be named Photographer of the Year, Discovery of the Year, Deeper Perspective Photographer of the Year and Moving Image Photographer of the Year, at the Lucie Awards ceremony on October 29, 2017.



cash prize sponsored by ATEDGE


Alex Telfer – Advertising – United Kingdom – WINNER

Steffen Schraegle – Architecture – Germany

Lauren Greenfield – Book – United States

Paula Bronstein – Editorial – United States

Mona Sartoveh – Event – Iran

Gilles Pouchele – Fine Art – France

Aviad Bar-Ness – Nature – Israel

Bart Heynen – People – Belgium

Ellen Jantzen – Special – Untied States

Geoff Coombs – Sports – Canada

IPA China: Xiaoxiao Liu

IPA Philippines: Ezra Acayan

IPA Russia: Eduard Korniyenko

IPA Spain: Roberto Aguirrezabala




Mariano Belmar – Fine Art – Spain – WINNER

Raffael Dickreuter – Advertising – United States

Federico Lelli – Architecture – Italy

Julie Stephenson – Book – Australia

Manel Quiros – Editorial – United Kingdom

Raluca Butnaru – Event – Italy

Robert Neufeld – Nature – Canada

Alina Fedorenko – People – Germany

Cristian Townsend – Special – Japan

Warren McConnaughie – Sports – United Kingdom

IPA China: Xiaobing

IPA Philippines: Rolando T. Mesuga

IPA Russia: Natalya Trotsevich

IPA Spain: Eduardo Marco Quevedo




Giles Clarke – Deeper Perspective – United States – WINNER

Jordan Gale, United States

IPA China: Huaifeng Li

IPA Philippines: Jed Regala

IPA Russia: Anton Unitsyn

IPA Spain: Javier Sánchez-Monge Escardó




Lebohang Kganye – Moving Image – South Africa – WINNER

Pistolwish – United States



2017 support category nominees

Support Category Awards are presented to individuals and organizations who are an integral part of crafting an image.


book publisher of the year classic:

(awarded to publisher)


Phaidon for Generation Wealth: Lauren Greenfield – WINNER

Aperture for Stephen Shore: Selected Works, 1973–1981

MACK for Forever: Anthony Hernandez

Steidl for Nobel Heroes: Peter Badge

Thames & Hudson for Firecrackers


book publisher of the year limited:

(awarded to publisher)


Taschen for James Baldwin. The Fire Next Time. Steve Schapiro Art Edition ‘James Baldwin’: Steve Schapiro – WINNER

21st Editions for BLUE: Timothy Duffy

ceiba for Picture of My Life: Junpei Ueda

MACK for Sleeping by the Mississippi – Special Edition: Alec Soth

Radius Books for ONE



curator/exhibition of the year:

(awarded to curator)


Jeff L. Rosenheim and Maria Morris Hambourg for Irving Penn: Centennial at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City – WINNER

Anders Kold for Rineke Dijkstra. The One and the Many at Louisiana Museum of Modern Art 

Charlotte Cotton, Pauline Vermare and Marina Chao for Public, Private, Secret at International Center of Photography, New York City

Diane Dufour with Julie Héraut for Magnum Analog Recovery at Le Bal, Paris

Gail Buckland for Who Shot Sports: A Photographic History, 1843 to the Present at Brooklyn Museum


fashion layout of the year:

(awarded to magazine publications)


AnOther Magazine for The Full Story: Solange Knowles for AnOther Magazine A/W17 by Peter Lindbergh – WINNER

Harper’s Bazaar for Think Pink by Daniel Riera

i-D for Life is Art, Live Yours in Color by Harley Weir

Numéro Magazine for Grace Bol by Txema Yeste

Vanity Fair for Cover Story: Emma Watson, Rebel Belle by Tim Walker


photography magazine of the year:

(awarded to publisher)


Foam Magazine, Netherlands – WINNER


Aperture Magazine, USA

EXIT, Spain

Osmos Magazine, USA


picture editor of the year:

(awarded to picture editor)


Marielle Eudes, Photo Director,  Agence France-Presse for Rescued From the Rubble – WINNER


Mary Cooney, Director of Photography, Los Angeles Times for Brazil’s war on Zika

Moe Doiron, Editor, Globe and Mail for Standing Rock

Robin Daughtridge, Associate Managing Editor for Photography and Video, and Todd Panagopoulos, Director of Photography, Chicago Tribune for Portraits of a child shooting victim in Chicago


print advertising campaign of the year:

(awarded to photographer)


Advantage Y&R, Windhoek, Namibia for African Trash Masks. Client: Greenpeace Africa. Photographed by Shawn Van Eeden – WINNER

Agencia3, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil for Absolute Confidentiality. Client: Disque Denúncia. Photographed by Aderi Costa, Ian Costa

JWT, Brazil for Womanity Campaign. Client: Womanity Foundation. Photographed by Gabriel de Moura

Ogilvy & Mather for Switch It OffClient: Amnesty International. Photographed by Sergej Chursyn; Andrew Reed Weller

R/GA for We Are America. Client: The Ad Council. Photographed by Mark Seliger